Some thoughts on Grey’s Anatomy

An out of town wedding kept me from watching the Grey’s finale for a couple of days, but if my Facebook friends’ statuses were any indication, something BIG had happened. Honestly, after slogging through the train wreck that the show had become these past couple of seasons, I was hoping the big surprise would be that the hospital blew up for some mysterious reason and everybody died, and then HBO brought back Deadwood. But alas, it wasn’t meant to be. Anyway, after watching the show and seeing what really happened, I could almost forgive it for its WTF storylines and horrible acting…almost.

A few weeks ago, as I was watching the show’s 100th episode and telling my wife that I really felt I could see the show disappearing up its own a**hole, it hit me. I finally understood why the show was making me grind my teeth in my sleep. It wasn’t necessarily that Izzie was having sex with her dead boyfriend, or that the writers couldn’t do anything that made sense with Callie’s sex life, it was that everybody on this show (with only a few exceptions) is a conceded piece of sh*t. So when Meredith confronts Christina, complaining that she isn’t excited enough about her engagement to Derek, all Christina can do is stare her down and say, “You know what? I broke up with Owen you BI*CH!” Everyone is convinced that their problems outweigh everyone else’s, and will only back down when their friends guilt them into it.

Dr. Robbins: You might not like it when I say that George joining the Army is awesome, but 9/11!

Callie: … I-I’m sorry.

And the problem isn’t only with the main characters. Every episode invariably features some patient who’s had a straw driven through his throat or was kicked in the face by a horse. But it’s never the one patient. It’s them and some hapless bystander who’s been caught up in it all, so when the injured one is rolled out of the ambulance, they’re right behind them, falling out of their gurney and asking if everything’s going to be alright. And of course, whatever’s happened has ruined someone’s big plans. Like the astronaut who was supposed to be on a shuttle flight that night, before the guy she was standing next to at the bus stop was hit by a car and got a hood ornament stuck in his brain.

Astronaut: You don’t understand doctor, I was supposed to go to the moon tonight. It was my chance to… *sniff* … be a star. (cries)

But while every episode of Grey’s Anatomy is guaranteed to have its dips, it also has its rises. Because Dr. Bailey constantly needs to be reminded that she has a good reason for neglecting her son and guaranteeing him a long future in therapy, there’s the token scene in the end of a doctor giving someone good news, and people hugging, then someone smiles and says, “That right there, ladies and gentlemen, is why we do what we do. Now let’s go cut!” and then everybody jumps up and high fives.

Like I said, I was able to forget about most of this after watching the season finale. I mean, wow, huh? Can’t wait for those DVDs. In any case, one thing’s for sure: Kate Walsh should grow her hair long again and gain five pounds… and come back to the show. I’m still not sure why she ran off to LA to work in that sperm bank or whatever the hell it is. But I loves me some Addison.

3 responses to “Some thoughts on Grey’s Anatomy

  1. hahahaha.
    “I was hoping the big surprise would be that the hospital blew up for some mysterious reason and everybody died, and then HBO brought back Deadwood.”

    you’re soooo funny. 🙂

  2. Their reactions look like they just saw “1 Guy 1 Cup”.

    Your interest is peaked. You want to know “what is 1 Guy 1 Cup?”, but I’m telling you, you don’t want to know.

  3. By the way – Chuck finally told Blaire he loved her in the Gossip Girl finale. I know you’d want to know.

Leave a Reply

