Aaron Sorkin coming back to television?

That’s the word going around the campfire — the campfire being Aaron Sorkin and TV Guide. The genius, and I throw that word around lightly, behind the The West Wing recently had this to say…

I’m going to be starting on a new TV series. It’s going to be what turns out to be the third in the trilogy of TV shows that take place behind the scenes of a TV show, but this will be a different kind of TV show. That’s all I can let out of the bag right now.

Sorkin says he’ll start work on the show after filming on the upcoming Facebook movie, “The Social Network,” has wrapped. I’ve heard rumors that the show will take place behind the scenes at a news network, but I guess we’ll see. Whatever it is, I hope it’ll be chock full of divisive politics, which is what Sorkin does best. And if the show were set at a news network, it would give him an excuse to do it. I was excited when I first heard about Studio 60, but after a few episodes I realized I didn’t give a sh*t about actors on a sketch comedy show pontificating on the war and the economy. I mean, they weren’t even wearing wigs.

Leave a Reply

